MQ’s Link Book

Find everything you need in one place.

mq-artofx

MatchQuarters.com’s Philosophy of Football ::

** Each link will open in a new window, so bookmark this page and get to reading!**
  1. The Over Front: https://matchquarters.com/2016/07/10/old-school-new-school/
  2. The Argument for Two-High in Modern Football: https://matchquarters.com/2016/09/19/argument-for-two-high/
  3. Principles on Defending the Spread: https://matchquarters.com/2016/08/05/fmt-phil-bennetts-5-principles-for-defend-the-spread/
  4. The Art of Match Quarters: https://matchquarters.com/2016/07/13/the-art-of-match-quarters/
  5. Why Four-Press Should Be Your Base: https://matchquarters.com/2016/08/26/fmt-press-the-corners/
  6. 4-2-5 vs 4-3https://matchquarters.com/2016/12/05/its-all-about-the-cover-down/
  7. The Systematic (Structured) Creativity of Match Quarters Defenses: https://matchquarters.com/2016/09/26/systematic-creativity/
  8. How to Set-Up Your Defense: https://matchquarters.com/2016/08/29/formation-your-defense/
  9. How to Set the Strength: https://matchquarters.com/2016/11/07/setting-the-strength/
  10. Zero the Mike (Belly-Key)https://matchquarters.com/2016/07/22/fmt-zero-the-mike/
  11. Using Gap Natural Gap Exchanges in Your Front Seven: https://matchquarters.com/2016/12/30/teaching-gap-exchanges/
  12. Protecting Your Defense From Motion: https://matchquarters.com/2016/11/14/going-through-the-motions/
  13. Defending Formation into Boundary (FIB)https://matchquarters.com/2016/12/12/fib-formation-into-boundary/

Quarters Pedagogy ::

  1. Teaching the Safetieshttps://matchquarters.com/2016/11/28/how-i-teach-match-quarters-pt-2/
  2. Teaching the Cornershttps://matchquarters.com/2016/10/31/how-i-teach-match-quarters/
  3. Match Quarters Pass Distributions: https://matchquarters.com/2016/10/21/fmt-four-and-two-read/
  4. Daily Musts for DBshttps://matchquarters.com/2016/09/30/fmt-daily-must/

Defending the Spread ::

  1. Defending Jet Motionhttps://matchquarters.com/2016/11/18/fmt-defending-jet-motion/
  2. Line Twists to Combat Heavy Zone Teamshttps://matchquarters.com/2016/10/28/fmt-tex-stunts-to-combat-zone/
  3. Defending the Zone Readhttps://matchquarters.com/2016/07/25/attacking-the-zone-read/
  4. Defending the Power Readhttps://matchquarters.com/2016/09/02/fmt-stopping-the-power-read/
  5. Defending Split Zonehttps://matchquarters.com/2016/10/07/fmt-defending-split-zone/

Defending the RPO ::

  1. How to Defend Against RPO’shttps://matchquarters.com/2016/08/01/defeating-the-rpo/
  2. RPO Stop Callshttps://matchquarters.com/2016/08/19/fmt-three-rpos-three-stop-calls/
  3. Using Split-Field Coverage to Counteract RPO & Check-With-Me Offenseshttps://matchquarters.com/2016/10/03/leveraging-the-boundary/

Defending Formations ::

  1. 10/Empty Personnel:
    1. Why You Should Run an Under Front to 3×1 Sets:  https://matchquarters.com/2016/07/18/how-do-you-play-trips/
    2. Trips Coverages Explainedhttps://matchquarters.com/2016/08/08/how-do-you-play-trips-pt2/
    3. Attacking Emptyhttps://matchquarters.com/2016/11/25/fmt-three-ways-to-attack-empty/
  2. Defending Stack and Bunch Setshttps://matchquarters.com/2016/10/17/defending-stack-and-bunch-sets/
  3. 11 Personnelhttps://matchquarters.com/2016/08/22/tight-end-sets-vs-match-quarters/
  4. 20 Personnel:
    1. Over vs Under: https://matchquarters.com/2016/12/23/defending-20-personnel-over-vs-under/
    2. Read Coverage (Field Robber): https://matchquarters.com/2017/01/06/defending-20-pers-read-coverage/
  5. 21 Personnelhttps://matchquarters.com/2016/09/05/defending-power-football/
  6. 12 Personnelhttps://matchquarters.com/2016/11/21/lining-up-to-ace/
  7. 30 Personnelhttps://matchquarters.com/2016/11/04/fmt-defending-the-diamond/
  8. Defending the Wing-Thttps://matchquarters.com/2016/11/11/fmt-tips-on-defending-the-wing-t/

Stop Calls/Pressures/Blitzes ::

  1. Packaging Blitz Callshttps://matchquarters.com/2016/09/12/how-to-package-your-blitz-calls/
  2. Building a Better Zone Blitzhttps://matchquarters.com/2016/08/15/building-a-better-blitz/
  3. Run Down Stop Callshttps://matchquarters.com/2016/09/23/fmt-3-run-down-stop-calls/

3-4 Resources ::

  1. The Okie Fronthttps://matchquarters.com/2016/08/12/fmt-the-not-so-odd-front/
  2. Defending Modern Spread from Okiehttps://matchquarters.com/2017/01/20/defending-the-spread-from-a-3-4/
  3. The Tite Front (303/404)https://matchquarters.com/2016/10/10/the-3-4-tite-front/
  4. 3rd Down Calls From a 3-4https://matchquarters.com/2016/10/14/fmt-3rd-down-calls-from-a-3-4/

Opponent Breakdowns/Practice ::

  1. Breaking Down an Opponenthttps://matchquarters.com/2016/12/19/breaking-down-an-opponent/
  2. Down & Distance Data: https://matchquarters.com/2016/12/16/fmt-down-and-distance/
  3. Building a Hit Charthttps://matchquarters.com/2016/09/09/fmt-building-a-hit-chart/
  4. Weekly Schedule (Practice Plan): https://matchquarters.com/2016/09/16/fmt-weekly-schedule/

As always, follow me on Twitter (@The_Coach_A) and do not hesitate to email me with questions through the site’s CONTACT page.

3 thoughts on “MQ’s Link Book”

  1. This page is absolutely fantastic! Great information here, some info confirms what I know and more importantly reading up on new ways to defend different offenses. Great website.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s